2013 Media Access Project (MAP) Grant

CreaTV San Jose Announces the Winning San Jose Schools of
The 2013 Media Access Project (MAP) Grant

San Jose, CA, April 29, 2013—CreaTV San Jose Board Chair, Charlotte Powers, and CreaTV Board Member, Javier Gonzalez, today announced the winning schools of the 2013 Media Access Project (MAP) Grant LIVE on CreaTV’s Classrooms Channel 28 on Comcast and on CreaTV’s website at www.creatvsj.org.

Joining Charlotte and Javier on the live broadcast were CreaTV Executive Director, Suzanne St. John-Crane, San Jose City Manager, Deb Figone, Dr. Xavier De La Torre, Santa Clara County Superintendent of Schools and Rosa Castenada, CreaTV Educational Coordinator.

Watch the 5-minute video announcement of the 14 schools awarded the 2013 Media Access Project (MAP) Grant.

In March 2013, CreaTV San Jose announced the launch of the second cycle of the MAP Grant. All elementary, middle and high schools, whether public, private or charter in San Jose, as well as current MAP schools, were invited to apply for this exciting opportunity to be outfitted with digital media equipment, computers and software for a two-year period, beginning fall of 2013.

In its first two-year cycle, the MAP Grant Program impacted more than 9,600 San Jose youth. Watch the MAP testimonial video and learn how the students and the teachers feel about the program.

In its second cycle, CreaTV awarded fourteen San Jose schools—five elementary, four middle and five high schools—with digital media equipment that will be delivered to the schools in time for the fall 2013 school term. The winning middle and high schools will receive field or studio kits valued at $50,000 each. The elementary schools will receive field camera kits valued at $5,000 each. In exchange for this award, schools produce half-hour TV shows every month that air on CreaTV San Jose’s Classrooms Channel 28 on Comcast and on CreaTV’s website www.creatvsj.org.

The winning schools of the 2013 MAP Grant are:

Elementary Schools:

  • Carolyn Clark, Evergreen School District
  • Franklin, Franklin-McKinley School District
  • George Shirakawa, Franklin-McKinley School District
  • Noble, Berryessa School District
  • Sherman Oaks Community Charter School, Campbell Union School District


Middle Schools:

  • Burnett, San Jose Unified School District
  • Ida Price, Cambrian School District
  • Sylvandale, Franklin McKinley School District
  • Brett Harte, San Jose Unified School District


High Schools:

  • Central County Occupational Center, Metropolitan Education District
  • Lincoln, San Jose Unified School District
  • Del Mar, Campbell Union High School District
  • Mount Pleasant, East Side Union High School District
  • Santa Teresa, East Side Union High School District


With the awarded studio and field kits, students learn how to make videos, tell stories and be more confident individuals by sharing their perspectives with the community. Schools produce PSAs, documentaries, short films, and cover various community, school and sporting events. As part of its mission to inspire, educate and connect San Jose communities, using media to foster civic engagement, CreaTV’s MAP Grant aims to level the playing field and bridge the digital divide that exists for students in San Jose. CreaTV San Jose believes that access to digital media and creative innovation tools is vital for our youth to effectively communicate, engage in their communities and be competitive 21st century workers.

CEO Search